Accredited TESL Training Programs

Important notes! Please read carefully:

  • The required training includes at least 250 instructional hours, 30 hours of observation, and 20 hours of supervised practice teaching.
     
  • The  training can be completed full time or part time; on-site, online, blended, or through distance education.
     
  • Some accredited schools offer the required training in two parts.
     
  • Graduates are eligible to apply for the TESL Ontario accreditation provided that they meet the TESL Ontario degree and English language proficiency requirements. Approved applicants are awarded the OCELT professional designation, the TESL Ontario Adult ESL Teacher Certificate of Accreditation, and the international ICTEAL Certificate to approved applicants.
     
  • The TESL Ontario accredited English teachers work for a variety of employers including school boards (Adult Education Departments), settlement agencies, welcome centres, community colleges, universities, private career colleges, assessment/test centres, and tutoring agencies (or as self-employed tutors.). They also work for a variety of employers abroad.
     
  • For information about the TESL program admission requirements, registration dates, start/end dates, weekly schedule, tuition fee, financial assistance, etc., please contact the TESL training provider/s of your choice directly using the contact information provided below.
 
 

TESL Training Providers
(in alphabetical order)

Training Program Location

Training
Delivery Mode

Training  Program
Webpage

Training Program
Contact Information

Algonquin College

Ottawa, Ont

on-site
(synchronous online access to classes)

full-time & part time

 

 

 

http://www.algonquincollege.com/languages/teach-a-second-language/teslfl/

 

Dmitri Priven
613-727-4723, Ext.5018
privend@algonquincollege.com

Brock University
 

 

 

St. Catharines, Ont

on-site

bachelor's degree program

full-time
(part- time study possible)

 


https://brocku.ca/social-sciences/
departments-and-centres/applied-
linguistics

Hedy McGarrell
905-688-5550, Ext. 3374
applied.linguistics@brocku.ca
 

Canadian Centre for Language & Cultural Studies (CCLCS) Toronto, Ont.

 on-site

required training offered in two parts

 

http://cclcs.ca/tesl-training/

Cheryl Fretz
416-588-3900
cfretz@cclcs.ca
 

Canadian College of Educators

 

Mississauga, Ont.

on-site

full time & part time

http://canadiancollegeofeducators.
ca/tesldiploma/

 

Carmen Valero
905-896-0000
info@canadiancollegeofeducators.ca
cvalero@canadiancollegeofeducators.ca

Carleton University

 

Ottawa, Ont.

on-site

master's degree program

 

carleton.ca/slals/applied-linguistics-
discourse-studies/ma-program/

David Wood
613-520-2600, Ext. 6684
david.wood@carleton.ca
 

Carleton University

 

Ottawa, Ont.

on-site

certificate program

full-time & part  time
 

 

 

carleton.ca/slals/ctesl/

Eva Kartchava
613-520-2600, Ext. 3932
eva.kartchava@carleton.ca
 

Centennial College

 

Toronto, Ont.

on-site

required  training offered in two parts

centennialcollege.ca/ce

Trish Coles
416-289-5000, Ext. 7480
tcoles@centennialcollege.ca

Elaine McSorely
416-289-5000 Ext. 2228
emcsorely@centennialcollege.ca

 

Conestoga College

 

Kitchener, Ont.

full time on-site
part time online

required training offered in two parts


 

 

 

http://www.conestogac.on.ca/fulltime/teaching-english-as-a-second-language-tesl

 

Lois Molto
519-885-0300, Ext. 5451
lmolto@conestogac.on.ca
 

Fanshawe College

This training provider is not currently taking on new students as it is redesigning its program.

 

London, Ont.

on-site & blended

part time
 

 

https://www.fanshawec.ca/
programs-and-courses/ce-
programs/tel2-teaching-english-
second-language-tesl#group_
overview

Adair Meehan
519-452-4430, Ext.4321
Ameehan@fanshawec.ca

Dr. Angela Meyer-Sterzik
ameyersterzik@fanshawec.ca

Humber College

 

Etobicoke, Ont.

on-site & online

 

http://liberalarts.humber.ca/
programs/teaching-english-as
-a-second-language.html

Angelo DiGiorgio
416-675-6622, Ext. 4795
angelo.digiorgio@humber.ca
 

London Language Institute

London, Ont.

Part 1:on-site

Part 2: online

www.llinstitute.com/

Paula Medina
519-439-3350
paula@llinstitute.com
 

Niagara Catholic District School Board
 

St. Catharines, Ont.

on-site

part time

required training offered in two parts

http://niagaracontinuingeducation.
ca/exciting/teaching-english-tesol

Fred Wilson
905-682-3360, Ext. 204
fred.wilson@ncdsb.com
 

Niagara College
 

Welland, Ont.

on-site

part time

www.niagaracollege.ca/english
-language-studies/programs/
teaching-esl
Wendy Hounsham
905-735-2211, Ext. 7505 & Ext. 7559
whounsham@niagaracollege.ca
 

North American Business College of Sciences and Languages (NAB College)
 

 

Mississauga, Ont. on-site www.nabcollege.ca Dr.Keshav P. Mandadi
416-564-8268
mandadikeshav@gmail.com


 

Peel District School Board

 

Mississauga, Ont.

on-site

full time & part time

required training offered in two parts

 

 

www.teslpeel.org

Cindy Ryan
905-890-1010, Ext. 6640
Toll Free: 1-800-668-1146, Ext. 6640
cindy.ryan@peelsb.com
 

Renison University College, University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ont.

on-site

full time

required training offered in two parts

http://uwaterloo.ca/culture-and
-language-studies/tesol-
certification

Margaret Heeney
519-884-4404, Ext. 28667
mheeney@uwaterloo.ca

 

Seneca College,
English Language Institute (ELI)

Toronto, Ont.

on-site & blended

full time

required training offered in two parts

 

 

www.senecacollege.ca/tesl

Gloria McPherson
416-491-5050, Ext. 26255
gloria.mcpherson@senecacollege.ca
 

Seneca College,
Faculty of Continuing Education and Training (FCET)

 

Toronto, Ont.

on-site

part time

 

 

www.senecacollege.ca/ce
/language/language-careers/
tesl.html

Julian Martin
416-491-5050, Ext. 24107
julian.martin@senecacollege.ca
 

Sheridan College
 
Mississauga, Ont. on-site https://academics.
sheridancollege.ca/programs/
teaching-english-to-speakers-
of-other-languages

Tania Iveson
905-845-9430, Ext. 2092
tania.iveson@sheridancollege.ca
Webpage:

Toronto District School Board Toronto, Ont.

on-site

part time

www.tdsbtesl.ca

Claudia Petrescu
647-221-1609
TESLProgram@tdsb.on.ca
 

Trinity Western University Langley, BC

on-site-blended & online

master's degree program

full time & full time with a part time (reduced) course load

www.twu.ca/graduate/master
-of-arts-in-tesol/

Dr. William Acton
604-888-7511. Ext. 3941
William.Acton@twu.ca
 

University of Saskatchewan 

This program requires that students arrange for their own practicum hours.

 

 

Saskatoon, Sask.

online distance

part time
(full time only with special permission for experienced educators)

 

 

www.certesl.usask.ca

Shannon Storey
Phone: 306-966-2085
Fax: 306-966-5590
shannon.storey@usask.ca

Lisa Berg
lisa.berg@usask.ca

Lyndon MacNeill
http://certificates.admin@usask.ca
 

University of Toronto, Woodsworth College

Toronto, Ont.

on-site

full time & part time

http://tesol.wdw.utoronto.ca

Professional and International Programs Office
416-978-8713
tesol@utoronto.ca
 

University of Windsor, Centre for English Language Development

Windsor, Ont.

on-site

required training offered in two parts

www.uwindsor.ca/
englishlanguagedevelopment/
305/teacher-training

Iris Wang
519-253-3000, Ext. 3411
iris.wang@uwindsor.ca
 

York Catholic District School Board

This program offers only the practicum component of the required training.

Aurora, Ont.

on-site

 

 

http://ce.ycdsb.ca/adult/
adult-programs/teaching-
english-as-a-second-
language-tesl/

Tania Connell
416-221-5051, Ext. 13115
tania.connell@ycdsb.ca
 

York University

 

Toronto, Ont.

on-site

 

www.yorku.ca/laps/dlll/tesol

Antonella Valeo
tesol@yorku.ca