Accredited TESL Training Programs

Important notes! Please read carefully:

For information about TESL training admission requirements, fee, registration dates, start/end dates, weekly schedule, etc., please contact the TESL training provider/s of your choice directly using the contact information provided below.
 
If the TESL program is divided into two parts (Part 1 & Part 2; Stream 1 & Stream 2; or Certificate Level & Diploma Level), TESL Ontario requires the completion of both parts.
 
The terms used in the TESL program titles (e. g., TESL, TESOL, TEFL, post-graduate, certificate, diploma, stream, and CERTESL) are based on each training provider's internal guidelines and preferences. The differences in TESL program titles do not affect the duration, content, or quality of the required TESL training.
 
TESL program graduates who meet the degree and English language proficiency requirements of TESL Ontario accreditation and apply for the TESL Ontario accredited membership are granted the OCELT professional designation, the TESL Ontario Certificate of Accreditation, and the international ICTEAL Certificate. For detailed information, please go tohttp://www.teslontario.org/accreditation/languageinstructor.
 

TESL Training Providers
(in alphabetical order)

 

Accredited TESL Training Programs

 

Delivery Mode Contact Information

Algonquin College, Ottawa

Teachers of English as a Second/Foreign Language - Graduate Certificate Program

on-site
and
online

Dmitri Priven
613-727-4723, Ext.5018
privend@algonquincollege.com
Webpage:www.algonquincollege.com/languages/teach-a-second-language

Brock University,
St. Catharines

 

  • BA (Hons.) Applied Linguistics/Teaching English as a Subsequent Language (including TESL Certificate)
     
  • TESL Certificate (post BA or BSc)
on-site
 

Hedy McGarrell
905-688-5550, Ext. 3374
applied.linguistics@brocku.ca
Webpage: https://brocku.ca/social-sciences/departments-and-centres/applied-linguistics

Canadian Centre for Language & Cultural Studies (CCLCS), Toronto

TESL Certificate Program
(Part 1 and Part 2)

 

on-site
 

Cheryl Fretz
416-588-3900
cfretz@cclcs.ca
Webpage: www.cclcs.ca/

Canadian College of Educators, Mississauga

 

TESL Diploma Program

 

 

on-site
 

Carmen Valero
905-896-0000
info@canadiancollegeofeducators.ca
Webpage: http://canadiancollegeofeducators.ca/tesldiploma/

Carleton University, Ottawa

 

Master of Arts, Applied Linguistics and Language Studies

 

on-site
 

David Wood
613-520-2600, Ext. 6684
david.wood@carleton.ca
Webpage: carleton.ca/slals/applied-linguistics-discourse-studies/ma-program/

Carleton University, Ottawa

 

Certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language

 

on-site
 

Eva Kartchava
613-520-2600, Ext. 3932
eva.kartchava@carleton.ca
Webpage: carleton.ca/slals/ctesl/

Centennial College, Toronto

 

Teaching English as a Second Language (Part 1 and Part 2)

 

on-site
 

Trish Coles
416-289-5000, Ext. 7480
tcoles@centennialcollege.ca

Elaine McSorely
416-289-5000 Ext. 2228
emcsorely@centennialcollege.ca

Webpage: centennialcollege.ca/ce

Conestoga College, Kitchener

 

TESL Certificate Program
(Part 1 and Part 2)

 

online
and
on-site
 

Lois Molto
519-885-0300, Ext. 5451
lmolto@conestogac.on.ca
Webpage: www.conestogac.on.ca/fulltime/

Fanshawe College, London

This training provider  is not currently taking on new students as it is redesigning its program.

 

TESL Post Graduate Certificate Program
 

 

blended
 

Adair Meehan
519-452-4430, Ext.4321
Ameehan@fanshawec.ca
Webpage: https://www.fanshawec.ca/programs-and-courses/ce-programs/tel2-teaching-english-second-language-tesl#group_overview

Humber College, Etobicoke

 

TESL Graduate Certificate Program

 

on-site
and
online


 

Angelo DiGiorgio
416-675-6622, Ext. 4795
angelo.digiorgio@humber.ca
Webpage:  http://liberalarts.humber.ca/programs/teaching-english-as-a-second-language.html

London Language Institute, London

TESOL Program
(Certificate and Diploma)

Part 1:
on-site

Part 2: online

Paula Medina
519-439-3350
paula@llinstitute.com
Webpage: www.llinstitute.com/

Niagara Catholic District School Board,
St. Catharines

TESOL Program
(Certificate and Diploma)

on-site
 

Fred Wilson
905-682-3360, Ext. 204
fred.wilson@ncdsb.com
Webpage: http://niagaracontinuingeducation.ca/exciting/teaching-english-tesol

Niagara College,
Welland

TESL Graduate Certificate Program on-site
 
Wendy Hounsham
905-735-2211, Ext. 7505 & Ext. 7559
whounsham@niagaracollege.ca
Webpage: www.niagaracollege.ca/english-language-studies/programs/teaching-esl

North American Business College of Sciences and Languages (NAB College),
Mississauga

 

TESL Diploma Program on-site
 
Jayne Edmonds
905-997-2422
jayne.edmonds@sympatico.ca
Webpage: www.nabcollege.ca

Peel District School Board, Mississauga

 

TESOL Program
(Certificate and Diploma)

 

Cert. Level: blended

Diploma Level:
on-site
 

Cindy Ryan
905-890-1010, Ext. 6640
Toll Free: 1-800-668-1146, Ext. 6640
cindy.ryan@peelsb.com
Webpage: www.teslpeel.org

Renison University College, University of Waterloo, Waterloo

TESOL Program
(Certificate and Diploma)

on-site
 

Margaret Heeney
519-884-4404, Ext. 28667
mheeney@uwaterloo.ca
Webpage:http://uwaterloo.ca/culture-and-language-studies/tesol-certification
 

Seneca College, English Language Institute (ELI), Toronto

TESL Program
(Part 1 and Part 2)

 

on-site
 

Gloria McPherson
416-491-5050, Ext. 26255
gloria.mcpherson@senecacollege.ca
Webpage: www.senecacollege.ca/tesl

Seneca College, Continuing Education (CE), Toronto

 

TESL Program

 

 

on-site
 

Julian Martin
julian.martin@senecacollege.ca
Webpage:www.senecacollege.ca/ce/language/language-careers/tesl.html

Sheridan College
Mississauga
TESOL PLUS on-site

Tania Iveson
905-845-9430, Ext. 2092
tania.iveson@sheridancollege.ca
Webpage: https://academics.sheridancollege.ca/programs/teaching-english-to-speakers-of-other-languages

Toronto District School Board, Toronto

TESL Training Program

on-site
 

Claudia Petrescu
647-221-1609
TESLProgram@tdsb.on.ca
Webpage: www.tdsbtesl.ca

Trinity Western University, Langley, BC

Master of Arts in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (MA TESOL)

online
and
on-site

 

William Acton
604-513-2121 Ext. 3941
William.Acton@twu.ca
Webpage: www.twu.ca/graduate/master-of-arts-in-tesol/

University of Saskatchewan,  Saskatoon

 

 

 

CERTESL Program

This program requires that students arrange for their own practicum hours.

Distance-delivered with both paper-based and internet-enhanced distance

distance-delivered
 

Shannon Storey
306-966-2085
shannon.storey@usask.ca

Certificates Administration Office
306-966-6488
certificates.admin@usask.ca
Webpage: www.certesl.usask.ca

University of Toronto, Woodsworth College, Toronto

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages Certificate

on-site
 

Professional and International Programs Office
416-978-8713
tesol@utoronto.ca
Webpage: http://tesol.wdw.utoronto.ca

University of Windsor, Centre for English Language Development, Windsor

TESOL Certificate and TESOL Diploma

on-site
 

Iris Wang
519-253-3000, Ext. 3411
iris.wang@uwindsor.ca
Webpage: www.uwindsor.ca/englishlanguagedevelopment/305/teacher-training

York Catholic District School Board, Aurora

 

Practicum Certificate Training Program

This program offers only the practicum component currently.

on-site
 

Tania Connell
416-221-5051, Ext. 13115
tania.connell@ycdsb.ca
Webpage: http://ce.ycdsb.ca/adult/adult-programs/teaching-english-as-a-second-language-tesl/

York University, Toronto

 

TESOL Certificate Program

 

on-site
 

Antonella Valeo
tesol@yorku.ca
Webpage: www.yorku.ca/laps/dlll/tesol