Accredited OCELT Training Providers

Important notes! Please read carefully:

  • The TESL Ontario accredited OCELT training includes at least 250 instructional hours, 30 hours of observation, and 20 hours of supervised practice teaching. The training can be completed full time or part time. The delivery modes are on-site, online, blended, and distance education. Some accredited schools offer the required training in two parts.
     
  • Graduates are eligible to apply for the TESL Ontario OCELT Accreditation and Professional Designation provided that they meet the university degree and English language proficiency requirements. The OCELT Certificate of Accreditation and Professional Designation recognizes that a certificate holder has the knowledge and skills required for teaching English to adult learners in all publicly funded and private programs in Ontario, other Canadian provinces and territories, and abroad. Approved applicants are also awarded the TESL Ontario International Certificate in Teaching English as an Additional Language (ICTEAL).
     
  • For information about the OCELT training program admission requirements, registration dates, start/end dates, weekly schedule, tuition fee, financial assistance, etc., please contact the OCELT training provider/s of your choice directly.

TESL Training Providers
(in alphabetical order)

Training Program Location

Training
Delivery Mode

Training  Program
Webpage

Training Program
Contact Information

Algonquin College

Ottawa, Ont

face-to-face
(with synchronous online access to classes)

full-time & part time

 

http://www.algonquincollege.com/languages/teach-a-second-language/teslfl/

 

Dmitri Priven
613-727-4723, Ext.5018
privend@algonquincollege.com

Brock University
 

 

 

St. Catharines, Ont

face-to-face

bachelor's degree program

full-time
(part- time study possible)


https://brocku.ca/social-sciences/
departments-and-centres/applied-
linguistics

Hedy McGarrell
905-688-5550, Ext. 3374
applied.linguistics@brocku.ca
 

Canadian Centre for Language & Cultural Studies (CCLCS) Toronto, Ont.

 face-to-face

full time & part time

The required training is offered in two parts.

 

http://cclcs.ca/tesl-training/

Cheryl Fretz
416-588-3900
cfretz@cclcs.ca
 

Canadian College of Educators

 

Mississauga, Ont.

face-to-face

full time & part time

http://www.canadiancollegeofeducators.ca

 

Carmen Valero
905-896-0000
info@canadiancollegeofeducators.ca
cvalero@canadiancollegeofeducators.ca

Carleton University

 

Ottawa, Ont.

face-to-face

master's degree program

 

carleton.ca/slals/applied-linguistics-
discourse-studies/ma-program/

David Wood
613-520-2600, Ext. 6684
david.wood@carleton.ca
 

Carleton University

 

Ottawa, Ont.

face-to-face

certificate program

full-time & part  time
 

carleton.ca/slals/ctesl/

Geoff Pinchbeck
613-520-2600, Ext. 2983
Geoff.Pinchbeck@carleton.ca
 

Centennial College

 

Toronto, Ont.

online

The required training is offered in two parts.

https://secure.centennialcollege.ca/webreg/progdetail.do?ProgramCode=7381

Trish Coles
416-289-5000, Ext. 7480
tcoles@centennialcollege.ca

Elaine McSorley
416-289-5000, Ext. 2228
emcsorley@centennialcollege.ca

 

Conestoga College

 

Kitchener, Ont.

full time face-to-face
part time online

The required training is offered in two parts.

 

http://www.conestogac.on.ca/fulltime/teaching-english-as-a-second-language-tesl

 

Lois Molto
519-748-5220, Ext. 3896
lmolto@conestogac.on.ca
 

Fanshawe College

accepting only international applicants for fall 2019 registration

London, Ont.

face-to-face & blended

full time


 

 

http://www.fanshawec.ca/programs/tes1-teaching-english-speakers-other-languages-and-intercultural-competence/next

Adair Meehan
519-452-4430, Ext.4321
Ameehan@fanshawec.ca

Dr. Angela Meyer-Sterzik
ameyersterzik@fanshawec.ca

Humber College

 

Etobicoke, Ont.

face-to-face & online

 

http://liberalarts.humber.ca/
programs/teaching-english-as
-a-second-language.html

Irene Kosmas
416-675-6622, Ext. 79116
irene.kosmas@humber.ca
 

London Language Institute

London, Ont.

Part 1: face-to-face

Part 2: online

www.llinstitute.com/

Paula Medina
519-439-3350
paula@llinstitute.com
 

Niagara Catholic District School Board
 

St. Catharines, Ont.

face-to-face

part time

The required training is offered in two parts.

http://niagaracontinuingeducation.
ca/exciting/teaching-english-tesol

Fred Wilson
905-682-3360, Ext. 204
fred.wilson@ncdsb.com
 

Niagara College
 

Welland, Ont.

face-to-face

full time

www.niagaracollege.ca/english
-language-studies/programs/
teaching-esl
Heather Cordeiro
905-735-2211, Ext. 7091
hcordeiro@niagaracollege.ca
 

North American Business College of Sciences and Languages (NAB College)
 

 

Mississauga, Ont. face-to-face www.nabcollege.ca TBA


 
Ontario Tech University (formerly UOIT) Oshawa, Ont.

blended

full time

https://education.uoit.ca/

Dr. Allyson Eamer
905-721-8668, Ext. 3821
tesl.facofed@uoit.ca

 

Peel District School Board

 

Mississauga, Ont.

face-to-face

full time & part time

The required training is offered in two parts.
 

www.teslpeel.org

Cindy Ryan
905-890-1010, Ext. 6640
Toll Free: 1-800-668-1146, Ext. 6640
cindy.ryan@peelsb.com

Renison University College, University of Waterloo Waterloo, Ont.

face-to-face

full time

The required training is offered in two parts.

https://uwaterloo.ca/community-and-professional-education/tesol-certificate

Kimberly Burrell
519-884-4404, Ext. 28693
kburrell@uwaterloo.ca

 

Seneca College,
English Language Institute (ELI)

Toronto, Ont.

face-to-face & blended

full time

The required training is offered in two parts.

www.senecacollege.ca/tesl

Gloria McPherson
416-491-5050, Ext. 26255
gloria.mcpherson@senecacollege.ca
 

Seneca College,
Faculty of Continuing Education and Training (FCET)

 

Toronto, Ont.

face-to-face

part time

 

www.senecacollege.ca/ce
/language/language-careers/
tesl.html

Julian Martin
416-491-5050, Ext. 24107
julian.martin@senecacollege.ca
 

Sheridan College
 
Mississauga, Ont. face-to-face https://academics.
sheridancollege.ca/programs/
teaching-english-to-speakers-
of-other-languages

Tania Iveson
905-845-9430, Ext. 2092
tania.iveson@sheridancollege.ca
Webpage:

Toronto District School Board Toronto, Ont.

face-to-face

part time

www.tdsbtesl.ca

Claudia Petrescu
647-221-1609
maria.petrescu@tdsb.on.ca
 

Trinity Western University Langley, BC

face-to-face, online & blended

master's degree program

full time & full time with a part time (reduced) course load

www.twu.ca/graduate/master
-of-arts-in-tesol/

Dr. William Acton
604-888-7511. Ext. 3941
William.Acton@twu.ca
 

University of Saskatchewan 

This program requires that students arrange for their own practicum hours.

 

 

Saskatoon, Sask.

online/distance

part time
(full time only with special permission for experienced educators)

 

 

www.certesl.usask.ca

Shannon Storey
Phone: 306-966-2085
Fax: 306-966-5590
shannon.storey@usask.ca

Lisa Berg
lisa.berg@usask.ca

Lyndon MacNeill
http://certificates.admin@usask.ca
 

University of Toronto, Woodsworth College

Toronto, Ont.

face-to-face

full time & part time

http://tesol.wdw.utoronto.ca

Professional and International Programs Office
416-978-8713
tesol@utoronto.ca
 

University of Windsor, Centre for English Language Development

Windsor, Ont.

face-to-face

The required training is offered in two parts.

www.uwindsor.ca/
englishlanguagedevelopment/
305/teacher-training

Iris Wang
519-253-3000, Ext. 3441
iris.wang@uwindsor.ca
 

Western University London, Ont. face-to-face

master's degree program
https://www.edu.uwo.ca/graduate-education/program/mped/tesol.html Brandee Blanchard
519-661-2111, Ext. 88208
tesol@uwo.ca
 

York Catholic District School Board

This program offers only the practicum component of the required training.

Aurora, Ont.

face-to-face

 

https://www.ycdsb.ca/ce/program/teaching-english-as-a-second-language-tesl/

 

Tania Connell
416-221-5051, Ext. 13115
tania.connell@ycdsb.ca
 

York University

 

Toronto, Ont.

face-to-face

 

www.yorku.ca/laps/dlll/tesol

Antonella Valeo
tesol@yorku.ca